Cleaning up the Clutter

Posted: September 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

Yesterday we arrived at the Outer Banks. One thing that happens when I go on vacation is that when I arrive, I usually don’t unpack my suitcase immediately and put my clothes in the dressers provided in the rooms. Don’t pretend like you do either, I know how you all are. So like every normal person, 10 minutes after arriving I was tossing clothes to the side to find my shorts and a few minutes later my brother and I were heading to down to hit the waves. Last night after changing clothes, again I just tossed things to the side to find what I wanted to wear.

This morning when I got out of the shower I was searching for a specific item and couldn’t find it anywhere. The reason for this was because my closet was full of clutter. Both Vicki and I had clothes all over the place and we’ve been here for less than 24 hours.

If we’re not careful, our lives can quickly become the same way. We allow “stuff” to clutter up our mind and distract us from living as God created us to be. Our minds then become just like my messed up closet. Too much stuff going on to really focus on what is important. For me the things that are important are God, my wife, my daughter. If I’m not careful I can go a few hours, days without showing these 3 important areas of life the attention they deserve.

Here are a few things that clutter up my life:

  • Laziness
  • Selfishness
  • Lack of Discipline

As soon as I finish typing this out, I’m going to clean up our closet and put my clothes in their proper place. Then I will spend time with my wife and daughter and take time today to do what’s important.

Comments
  1. roncap says:

    “If I’m not careful I can go a few hours, days without showing these 3 important areas of life the attention they deserve.”

    For some reason I doubt that.

    • mattriggins says:

      Let me re-state… if I’m not careful, before I know it – I’ve gone a few hours and possibly even days without showing God, my wife, and my daughter the love and attention they deserve. Being lazy, selfish and filled with a lack of discipline lead to those things.

      Are you saying you don’t struggle with that as well?

  2. roncap says:

    “Are you saying you don’t struggle with that as well?”

    I struggle with lots of things. I have a sick wife and a son who deals with seizures. (Both doing better as of late, no jinx) My life is consumed with constant worry and prayer. So I never stray to far from God even for an hour. I am selfish and always pray and talk to him about “making my life normal” and curing them. I am scared to lose them both so my life is dedicated to them, always.

    I have no life outside of them. Not saying I am perfect or this is the way everyone should be, it’s just who I am.

    It sounds weird when I write how I am. It would make more sense and less egomaniac if I could speak it. So forgive my typed words n

Leave a Reply

