The Sea Was Angry That Day My Friends

Posted: September 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

“The sea was angry that day my friends! Like an old man trying to send back soup at a deli”. – George Castanza

With 2 hurricanes currently hanging out in the Atlantic Ocean we have had some good waves so far this week. Like George, we’ve had to deal with some angry seas. However, this has made the boogie boarding extremely enjoyable.

Yesterday, while my brother and I were doing our thing out on the boogie boards, the seas slowed down a little. So why we were laying on our boogie boards facing away from the beach we just started talking. Our conversation was about the Seinfeld “Marine Biologist” episode where George uses the line from above. I was telling my brother a bunch of behind the scenes info from that episode that I recently learned.

Before we knew it we noticed the waves were now crashing after they rolled passed us. I turned around and looked and realized that we had floated out way farther than we had intended to. We were shocked and now had to spend lots of energy fighting the current to get back in.

Our lives can be the same way if we’re not careful. We can be floating along, just going with the flow, thinking everything is OK, and we slowly take our eyes off God and begin to float away. Sometimes it happens slowly, without warning.  Sometimes it comes quickly, when life gets “angry”. The next thing we know we’ve gone too far and need to fight to get ourselves back to shore, security, normalcy. For some people, they never turn back and never return to God and their life is in constant chaos and constant struggle.

This is why it’s important to surround ourselves with people who will hold us accountable and keep us close to shore. It’s important to remain faithful to God and stay committed to consistently meeting with other believers.  It’s important to maintain a daily walk with God to personally spend time with our Creator.

That way when the seas of your life get angry, you will be anchored down and not float away.

Comments
  1. Betsey Miller says:

    Loving these “beachy” posts! 😉

    But seriously…loving this one in particular. You are right on. Life can get so busy and hectic sometimes with our “to do” lists. It’s so easy to find ourselves drifting away if we’re not careful. Great reminder to stay in the Word and with those who are willing to speak Truth to us.

    • mattriggins says:

      Thanx Betsey! The posts seem easy here at the beach. There’s so much happening. Now I know why Kenny Chesney is such a successful song-writer. Maybe I just need to bring my guitar and move down here 🙂

  2. bryan says:

    If your next post isn’t all the behind the scenes info from that episode (one of my faves), I’m unsubscribing.

  3. david says:

    Great post. Thanks for the inspirational words and thoughts. We both know seinfeld is relatable to everyday circumstances, so I fully expect many more references, otherwise, David will be getting Very upset!!

  4. […] 16, 2010 by mattriggins in Uncategorized Tags: Seinfeld 0 As I mentioned in the “seas were angry” post, I know some behind the scenes info from Seinfeld’s Marine Biologist episode. Now […]

  5. roncap says:

    “For some people, they never turn back and never return to God and their life is in constant chaos and constant struggle.”

    What would you say to the person who has never turned away from God and thier life is still constant chaos and struggle?

    • roncap says:

      Thank you for your response.

      • mattriggins says:

        Sorry Roncap… 3 “excuses” for my lack of response:

        1) I’m on vacation with my family
        2) It’s Friday
        3) Most importantly, you question was deep and I don’t want to flippantly answer, which means I need to take more time to think about it than quickly responding.

        Hope this makes you feel better. Again, sorry for the delay in responding.

      • roncap says:

        No sorry for my impatience.

      • mattriggins says:

        Ron,

        I’m back at work now, and while I didn’t really research your question, here’s a quick answer that I thought of…

        What would you say to the person who has never turned away from God and thier life is still constant chaos and struggle?

        1) Those who stray FROM God will have chaos and struggle – but no HOPE, no FUTURE, no SECURITY, no PEACE
        2) Those who stay WITH God will have chaos and struggle, but with God we have HOPE, a FUTURE, SECURITY, & PEACE

        God never promised us a perfect easy life here on earth. In fact, knowing that Satan hates us so much, you could almost suggest that life would be “easier” if we weren’t followers of Christ. But the suffering that we face here on earth is only temporary and once we get to Heaven we will realize that it was all worth it. Someday when we enter heaven it will all be over and we will have no more pain, no more sorrow. For encouragement you should listen to the song by Jeremy Camp called “There will be a Day”. I love that song… especially on days when I feel like chaos and struggle are all around me.

        I hope this helps!

        God Bless,
        Matt

  6. roncap says:

    It does help, and I thank you. Plus I just need to start taking a serious look at what gifts I have been given and not the one’s I want. He has a plan and I have to trust in Him, well not have to, I do trust in Him.

    Thanks again

Leave a Reply

