Vacation from God?

Posted: September 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

One of my all-time favorite movies is “What about Bob”. In the movie, Dr Leo Marvin suggests to Bob that he “take a vacation from his problems”. Turns out Bob loves this new radical therapy and decides to shack up with Dr. Marvin and his family. What ensues is sheer comedy. I really recommend you see that movie if you’ve never seen it before.

So being that I’m on vacation this week, I was thinking of some of the things that I am currently taking a vacation from:

  • Problems (yep… just like Bob)
  • Work (both jobs)
  • Responsibilities around the house
  • Worrying about “to do list”
  • God
  • Stress

Wait a sec…. God??? Really?

Unfortunately that was true for the first 2 days I was here. I spent very little time with God.

As a dad, I really believe that the most important time of my day is not the time that I spend with my daughter or my wife, but rather time I spend with God. As I’ve mentioned before, this is something that I struggle with more than I would like to admit.

If I’m not taking time each day to spend with my creator – it will effect the rest of my day. It effects how I treat my wife, my daughter, and the rest of my family.

No matter what you are doing this week… do not take a vacation from God.

Matthew 6:11 – Give us each day our Daily Bread.

Comments
  1. John Powley says:

    That’s a good reminder Matt. Even when we seem to have the most available time (vacation) we still struggle to find time to spend with our Creator and Savior. It’s a daily discipline that requires serious committment.

Leave a Reply

