We are the Champions!

Posted: September 21, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,
I’ve paid my dues, time after time
I’ve done my sentence, but committed no crime
And bad mistakes, I’ve made a few
I’ve had my share of sand kicked in my face
But I’ve come through
We are the champions, my friends
And we’ll keep on fighting – till the end
We are the champions
We are the champions
No time for losers
Cause we are the champions – of the world

Unless you live in Cleveland, you’ve probably sung that song at least once in your life.  Perhaps it was after a youth league championship or maybe when your favorite team won a championship, that song by Queen is the perfect celebration song.  Well last night, Vicki and I felt like champions!

Naomi has officially entered her 3rd month of life.  She is over 13 weeks old, and as many of you have probably experienced with your children – you know how tough it can be when they start teething.  Lately, and understandingly, she has been very cranky and upset most of the day.  After spending a week at the Outer Banks, Naomi was not happy to leave.  The 7 hour drive home took closer to 9 hours.  On Sunday evening, we went to some friends house to hang out and watch football and she didn’t really want any of that either.  We spent most of the night trying to rock her in different positions.  She’d fall asleep for about 10 minutes and then wake back up again.  Yesterday was much of the same.  While I was back at work trying to get caught up, my wife was home with Naomi again dealing with our hurting little angel.  I know my wife has had a rough day when as soon as I walk in, with a grin on her face, she asks me to take “your daughter”.

I’ve been home with Naomi enough to know that it’s a full-time responsibility to take care of her on days like yesterday.  So I felt compassion and sympathy towards my wife and knew she deserved some peace and quiet.  I volunteered to basically do whatever with her and told Vicki to go upstairs and relax for a little.  She took her Bible and a few other books and went upstairs.  For about the next hour I watched her.  And after that, between my wife and I we tried our best to keep her happy and content.  Even when she gets tired, she fights it.  It seems like she hates to sleep.  We tried putting her down a couple of times and each time she kicks her legs out and begins screaming.  She loves to stand up.  She can’t stand on her own, but if she is crying and we hold her up – she loves it.  I had an idea…

For about 15-20 minutes she kicked herself up and down in this little thing.  But it still didn’t solve the problem.  As you can see where her mouth is, she could easily grab and bite the swing.  She did that almost the whole time.  We felt bad for her, but tried to entertain her as much as we could.  Finally she had enough of that and wanted out.  I took her out and went to the rocking chair.  By this time it was about 9:30 at night.  For the next 25 minutes I rocked her and as she went in and out I even sang to her, whistled to her, and finally just listened to her breath.  It was a sweet daddy moment with my daughter.  It wasn’t the first and won’t be the last, and although it took lots of work it was worth it.

I slowly stopped rocking the chair to see how she would respond.  She was still.  At peace.  I walked into our room and gently laid her into her pack-n-play and while she squirmed a little, her tiredness overtook her and she quickly fell back asleep.  My wife was staring at us.  Waiting for the cry to come out of the crib.  It never came.  After about 10 seconds I threw my arms into the air as if to declare VICTORY!  We had done it!

We are the champions
We are the champions
No time for losers
Cause we are the champions – of the world
Comments
  1. Tracy Burling says:

    Champions supreme. What awesome parents you are! Those jumpers are a God-send for tiring out little ones, along with daddy’s warm loving arms and melodious voice, miss Naomi just didn’t have a chance.

Leave a Reply

