Embarrassing Moments

Posted: September 27, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

This past Sunday, the Praise Team and I led worship in our church.  For those of you that don’t know, I play guitar and lead our part time Praise Team.  This happens about 3 out of every 5 weeks in our church.  Our congregation is a mixed crowd of those who like traditional worship music, and those who like contemporary worship music.  Occasionally, when introducing a new song, we have to assume that most of the crowd has never heard the song even if it’s played frequently on contemporary Christian radio.  Yesterday was one of those days.  We were breaking out the awesome new song “Our God” by Chris Tomlin and I figured it would be wise to start out with the chorus to help the congregation get more familiar with it.  Well… let’s just the say the leader (uh, yea… that’d be me) was WAAAY off on the key we would be starting in.  I was playing my guitar in the key of Em, and my voice was in the key somewhere near the country of Tim-buk-too.  I wish I could have seen the look on our others singers faces because I’m sure they had that startled “ok you’re on your own with this one bub” look on their faces.   So after a really awkward “Our God is greater, Our God is higher” I stopped, laughed at myself, and said “uh… yea… this one is new for me too… let’s try this again” all with a big embarrassed smile on my face.

Embarrassing moments are great because they always provide something to look back on and laugh at.  Do any of you have any embarrassing moments?  Let’s discuss them and laugh at each other in the comments section.  Don’t be shy… who’ll be first?

Comments
  1. david says:

    I’ve got one similar. Not in front of a huge congregation, but i was in a class in college titled “Singing Voice for Musical Theatre.” This was primarily made up of 2 groups of people: music majors and theatre majors (most of whom have had musical training prior to this class). Needless to say, I was very intimidated. We would warm up every class, and quite often we would go around the room and sing individually to see if everyone was in key. Often I was in key, but one time I was way off key in a higher octive, and my voice cracked something fierce. I was so embarassed. I got the chance to redeem myself later, and did alright, but I felt like I could have died right there and it would have been just fine with me.

  2. chris says:

    where do i even start….my musical embarrassing moments would fill books. i have dropped sticks in concerts, on stage, and field(drumline). cymbal crashes at the wrong time. i once fell of the stage(risers) played when i was not supposed to. Just last week I started a song off at the wrong tempo i did four stick clicks played two notes and stopped( no one else came in with me lol haha, was not practice either lol! Im sure in heaven there is going to be on the HTV (heavenTV) the reruns of my life. it will be on the comedy channel.

  3. Jason says:

    2 of my favorites are: Capo at the wrong fret and tuner left on, thus muting the guitar, then wondering why you can’t hear yourself.

  4. […] Embarrassing Moments September 2010 6 comments 3 […]

Leave a Reply

