Fun Friday – Favorite 80’s TV Shows

Posted: October 15, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

With news coming out recently that ABC is bringing back the INCREDIBLE HULK, I thought we would put our VCR’s in rewind and look at some of our favorite TV shows from the 1980’s.  The late 1980’s were my cool childhood years and since I had an older brother there was no Sesame Street in our house.  Think for a second about the awesomeness of the Incredible Hulk and the impact he left on your life.  If you’re anything like me… when someone upset you, you’d simply respond by saying “don’t make me angry… you wouldn’t like me when I’m angry”.  Then proceed to flip over their car, throw them into a dumpster and run into the woods to calm down.  Everybody did that when they were young… right?

Well even if you didn’t, in honor of David Banner – here were my favorite TV shows from my childhood:

  • Macgyver – Was there anything Macgyver couldn’t fix?  Seriously… you could put that dude in a room with a kite, a toothpick, a paperclip, his belly button lint and the clothes on his back, and next thing you know he is setting the timer on the bomb he built with those supplies.  2 minutes later, ka-boom!  Bad guys dead.  There was no trap he couldn’t escape from. Honestly though, I think the best part about Macgyver was that it was usually on right before Monday Night Football.  I always made sure my homework was done by 8 pm on Monday Nights.
  • Airwolf – Airwolf was the Mike Tyson of helicopters.  Every other copter was like Glass Joe.  It was not even a competition.  Airwolf toyed with them, flying through canyons just playing games as the much wimpier copters chased him around.  Next thing you know, he’s in your rear view mirror.  Done!  Although, just like the real Mike Tyson… Airwolf would eventually meet it’s match and have it’s Buster Douglas moment.  The helicopter was eventually sold after the show ended and became an ambulance helicopter in Germany, where it crashed in a thunderstorm and was destroyed on June 6, 1992, killing all three crew members.
  • Knight Rider – Back before David Hosselhoff was selling chart topping CD’s, he was the star of the hit show Knight Rider.  How cool would be to have a car that you could talk to through the watch on your wrist?  Or in 80’s lingo… how RAD!  Seriously, to this day, I would love to be able to call my car to come pick me up and rescue me from danger, and based on this information that google is working on… we might not be too far away from having our very own KITT’s. I just hope my KITT is also Mr. Feeny from Boys meets World.
  • A-Team – “I pity the fool who wanna fight me”.  I had a friend in high school who consistently ran around and said that line.  Only problem – he wasn’t 250 lbs of pure muscle with 50 lbs of gold around his neck.  I think the wimpiest kids in our class could have taken him.  But that was the impact the A-Team had… it made you feel like you could take on anyone.  All you needed was 3 crazy friends and a jacked up black van.  Which reminds me – I was terrified of black vans as a kid.

So what did I miss…  what were the best TV shows from your childhood?

And as a reward for reading this far… Here are the intro’s for your enjoyment:

Comments
  1. Airwolf was awesome, Stringfellow Hawk, what a name. A-Team, we actually had two dogs that we names Hannibal Hamby and Murdoch. Also, I liked Cheers and later in the 80’s Seinfeld.

    • chris says:

      my favorite show was the Gulf war news…lol thats the only think that i can remember from the 80’s but i guess thats not even 80’s thats early 90’s soo anyway.

  2. david says:

    I always loved how MacGyver could do just about anything with his swiss army knife. You’re right, he would take a stick of jewing gum, a pair of plyers and and an old shoe and somehow concoct a bomb or some kind of device that would be a booby trap to let him know of an intruder. The best part was that they way they described it with his sweet voice overs (so you could understand his thought processes), and it made perfect sense. After watching MacGyver, I never wanted to be without a pocket knife or a box of toothpicks just in case!!

  3. kayla wagner says:

    Boy Meets World, Full House, Saved by the Bell, Family Matters, and Step by Step…I would rather watch those shows than the shows that are on now…I also like watching shows from before I was born such as All in the Family and Leave it to Beaver..and others such as Three’s Company and Golden Girls, which came out around the time I was born…

  4. jason riggins says:

    Wow. Thank you for that Blast to the Past! So, you say Google is making a self-navigated car? BUT, WILL IT HAVE THE TURBO Booster ?? That’s What i want to know? Not hardly a day goes by that I wouldn’t love to just hit the Turbo Booster & jumped right over Some idiot trucker on a Back Road!! Or better yet. Ride right up into the back of truck & catch a lift..lol.
    Well i would have to say that those are some the Good Ones. However there are a few that got overlooked. One of my fav’s would have to be “Dukes of Hazard”! Unfortunately I wasn’t really aloud to Watch it to often, because of Daisy. “Need i say anymore”. And let’s not forget about Magnum P.I. Tom Sellek might be offended if we remember the Michael Knight, but not the Magnum! Last, but not the least SIMON & SIMON! 2- gun slinging Cowboys rounding up the Bad guys during the day & the Babes at Night. Yep..couldn’t watch this one much either!
    That said, The New Hulk couldn’t come soon enough. Bring it on Banner!!!!!

  5. Jason Black says:

    Jason hit all the ones I was going to say. I think it’s great that Hulu has a bunch of the old shows online.

Leave a Reply

