We dedicate you to GOD, Naomi…

Posted: October 26, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

In Matthew 10:39, Jesus says “Whoever finds his life will lose it, whoever loses his life for my sake will find it”.

Francis Chan said this at Catalyst 2010…

“If you try to keep your children ‘safe’ or ‘happy’, there’s a good chance you will lose them.  But when you let go, and start pursuing the things God has called you to – it’s like God says ‘I’ll take care of them.'”

By definition, the word dedicate means:

…to set apart and consecrate to a deity or to a sacred purpose

…to devote wholly and earnestly, as to some person or purpose

…to set aside for or assign to a specific function, task, or purpose

This past Sunday, my wife and I had the amazing privilege to dedicate our precious 4 month old Naomi to God.

By dedicating her to God does not mean we will stop taking care of her, stop loving her, or stop providing for her… it simply means that as parents we will step out of the way.  We don’t consider ourselves radical, insane, or crazy.  We are Christ followers and love God with all of our heart, soul, mind and strength and we desire the same for her.  We will pray for her and with her each day as she grows older and encourage her to do what on the outside seems impossible, and live a life of meaning and purpose.

  • If it’s God’s will is that she is a housewife, we accept.
  • If it’s God’s will that she is a teacher, we accept.
  • If it’s God’s will that she is a “Rachel Scott“, we accept.
  • If it’s God’s will that she is single her entire life, we accept.
  • If it’s God’s will that she is a “world changer” and moves to Asia, we accept.

Whatever God would want with her…  we hand her over.  As her parents, we commit her to be used by God and for God.

I was honored to sing the song “Lead Me”, written by the band Sanctus Real.  The song is perfect for dads and husbands.  It challenges us as men to be a man by asking God for help.  We cannot do it on our own.

If you have never heard this song… check out this video:

God gave me the strength to get through the song.  Numerous times I felt myself losing it, and I basically had to take my mind off the meaning of the song, and just sing it.  Truth is that I really have no idea what I’m doing, but I keep trusting God to LEAD ME, and I know that He will.

The fact that many of our closest friends and family were there to celebrate this awesome day with us was very humbling for us.  We are so blessed.

To end on a funny note…  as Pastor Sam was performing the dedication and speaking about Naomi, she let out one of her BIIIG yawns… as if to say “ok mister, let’s get the show on the road… I’ve got a world to change!!“.

That’s my girl!

Comments
  1. david says:

    I’m grateful that we could be there to witness the dedication. You and Vicki are great parents, and Naomi is extremely blessed as are her parents. She really is a Joy like her name expresses. Thanks for wanting us to be there.

    • mattriggins says:

      dude… we were so glad you guys made it. I know it was a sacrifice to make the trip up despite the fact you had so much other stuff going on that day. We’re praying for you guys as you await the arrival of #2. I hear that the 2nd borns are usually the best. I can’t remember where I heard that from… but I’m pretty sure it’s true! 🙂

  2. tim says:

    That was an awesome dedication service and the song, not only appropriate, but well done. I hope someone video taped it to show Naomi when she is older. I surely do appriciate you and vicki, and i sm very lucky and blessed to have the chance to know you matt. god bless you my brother.

Leave a Reply

