Ultimate Extreme Home Makeover

Posted: November 9, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Tomorrow morning I leave with my two brothers and sister-n-law to go to Atlanta.  I will be gone until Friday morning.  It goes without saying that blog posts this week probably will be sporadic at best, and more than likely won’t happen.   But before posting my “I’m going to be away all week” message, I want to leave you all with this thought:

“Welcome Home, Welcome Home”

As some of you know, we found out last Friday morning that my grandma, who was battling throat cancer, took her last breath and went home to be with Jesus.  I will miss my Nanny so much, but I know that she is no longer in pain.  She is probably smiling more, eating more, talking more, and breathing more now than she ever has.  Her last few years were filled with suffering that included not having a voice and being fed through a tube.  I am sad she is gone, but as I’m about to share with you – I know she is in a much better place now.

If you are anything like me, you love watching the Extreme Home Makeover show on ABC.  If we are home on a Sunday night, my wife and I usually always find ourselves glued to the TV, encouraged by the stories of Ty and the gang changing someone’s life.  Each week, I’m nearly brought to tears as the production crew does an amazing job capturing the reactions of each family member receiving a house they never imagined was possible.  The “Move that Bus” segment is by far my favorite scene, but then to watch them all go through the house and see their bedrooms, and other crazy rooms, transports a huge smile to my face.

I sometimes think that Ty has the best job in America.  I’ve never met Ty and I’m not sure what he is like off camera, but he seems like he is having an absolute blast showing people their amazing new home.  His enthusiasm for giving away the house is fun and joyful, but then his soft-spoken attention to detail and knowing how to say the right thing at the right time often creates emotionally filled moments that send the blessed family rushing into his arms to say thank you and thank you and thank you again.  His team knows how to put the perfect touches to each house that uniquely fits the new residents, filling their new home with memories from the past, and a hope for the future.

Can you imagine for a second that if Ty Pennington, just a regular guy with a big heart, can create that type of atmosphere down here on earth – what in the world could Jesus possibly be preparing for us in Heaven??

In John 14:2, Jesus said: “In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you.  I go to prepare a place for you.”

I don’t know you caught that or not… but Jesus said “I go to prepare a place for YOU!”

No offense to Ty Pennington… but he is NOT Jesus!!

My grandma lived a wonderful Christ-centered life.  She was an amazing woman.  She had a sense of humor that could make you change from sad to glad just by being in her presence.  She knew how to make you laugh, but she wasn’t afraid to ask tough question or engage in deep conversation.  She loved her family so much, but more importantly, she loved Jesus Christ with all her heart.

I think when she arrived in Heaven on Friday morning, there was a “move that bus” ceremony for her.  Might not have been a bus, could have been Jonah’s whale, or maybe Noah’s ark… but something was moved.   With a crowd of witnesses cheering her on, perhaps angels and family members, my Nanny finally saw the house that Jesus had been preparing for her for all these years.

With youthful enthusiasm that she hasn’t felt in years, I’m sure she jumped for joy as she walked through the doorway and down the hallways of her new mansion.

And just like on Extreme Home Makeover, I can’t imagine what went through her mind as Jesus handed her the keys to her new home, and heard for the very first time:

“Welcome Home June, Welcome Home!”

Comments
  1. Bets says:

    Did I ever tell you that you kind of remind me of Ty? I’ve thought that a bunch of times before.

    This was one of your best posts ever. You have a real gift for writing.

    Thanks for these heartfelt words and the wonderful reminder of what our Heavenly Father has in store for us in eternity. A great encouragement to those of us who feel like we’re doing a perpetual home makeover here on earth!

    • mattriggins says:

      ha! awesome! I love TY!! Have you ever noticed that he really looks a lot like Ernest from Ernest goes to Camp… lol!! Thanks seriously for your comment though. Really appreciate that

  2. Lindsey says:

    Matt,

    This made me smile and cry at the same time. Right before she passed I saw one single tear come down her face and instead of thinking it was a tear of sadness that she was leaving her fam, I’m SO in agreement with you that all the Angels, fam and friends who have gone before and yes, even Jesus were all screaming MOVE THAT BUS!!! I’m sure that tear meant that she not only saw what was next for her, but also seeing all of her loved ones who are already there and of course Jesus. I’ve been so at peace and am so thankful Nana isn’t suffering at all. I love this post… You an I are kindred spirits!!! Looking forward to seeing you guys tomorrow!!

    Love u,

    Lindsey

    • mattriggins says:

      Remember… it’s not “Move that Bus” in heaven… It’s more like “Move that Whale!” Or “Move that Ark” or maybe it’s “Move that Mountain” since we know that God can move the mountains too 🙂

      Thanks for the comments… can’t wait to see you too! 🙂

  3. david says:

    Awesome post man. I got goosebumps thinking about those amazing words spoken by our Lord and Saviour. To think a mansion built by Christ specifically for you, and me, and every other believer. He was master carpenter as well, so I’m sure they are just amazing. I imagine you will have a Seinfeld room in yours!! I doubt he will allow Mets memorabilia there though, so don’t get your hopes up. 🙂

    • mattriggins says:

      Dude… I read this comment in my car when it popped up on my phone on the way home from work… and I laughed for 10 mins just thinking about that. I’m still laughing, an hour later! I can’t imagine Seinfeld will be allowed in either though lol. C’mon man… no Mets!! It’s just now sinking in. Gotta figure though the Tarheels will be OK though… afterall – God’s colors are the same ones… look at the sky 🙂

  4. bryan allain says:

    sorry about your loss Matt, have a safe trip!

  5. david says:

    Well one this is for sure. Duke is definitely out. Any team glorifying a devil regardless of color gets an immediate veto!!

    You know, on another note. There is another comparison that could be made from that show. Christ comes into our lives, kinda like Ty, when we need him the most, demos our current residence (our sinful bodies), and takes over to build a new creation in the new home (our spiritual transformation). He takes away all the sin and wipes the slate clean because he paid for the renovation with his blood.

  6. […] a recent post about my grandmothers entrance into heaven, I mentioned the idea that Jesus is like our great Ty in the Sky. Basically, while we’re down […]

Leave a Reply

