A Great Surprise Story!

Posted: November 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

I love surprises!

Who doesn’t love a great surprise?

When I turned 30 my wife through a surprise birthday party for me, and walking into a room with 40 people yelling SURPRISE!! was one of the most shocking moments in the last year.  It was during March Madness so I knew my cousins were here but I had no idea so many other people would be at my brothers house waiting to surprise me when we walked in.  It was a great moment, I got to see some old friends and best part – we were all celebrating MY birthday.  Kudos to my wife for pulling it off.

So, over the past year, I have searched for opportunities to return the favor.  2 weeks ago while I was in Atlanta, and she was in Lynchburg, Virginia, I was finally presented with the perfect scenario.

My Uncle (who lives in Roanoke, Va) showed up at my Grandma’s funeral. This was surprising to me, because my Uncle is on my mom’s side of the family, the funeral was for my Grandma from my dad’s side of the family.  Regardless of how confusing that last sentence sounded, the reality was I was not expecting him to be there.  As we spoke the night of the viewing, I had an idea… so I asked him.

“Would you mind if I rode back to Virginia with you after the funeral tomorrow and you dropped me off in Lynchburg?”

For those of you not familiar with the Virginian geography, Lynchburg is only about a 45 minute drive from Roanoke.

“Sure!” He says, “I’d love the company for the 8 hour drive”.

I had a plane ticket already with my name on it for the morning after the funeral.  I was scheduled to fly back with my 2 brothers and my sister-in-law.  My wife was expecting to see me around 1 o’clock Friday afternoon when she would arrive home from visiting her family in Virginia.

Truth is.  I missed her.  And I missed Naomi.

So as soon as the funeral was over, I got in my Uncle’s car and we headed for Virginia.  Our anticipated arrival was about 9 o’clock.

After we stopped and ate at Subway, sat in traffic in South Carolina for 45 minutes, and took 20 minutes to change a flat tire, we were behind schedule a bit.  My Uncle didn’t seem to mind.  He’s an adventurous type and was telling me stories the whole time.  He’s a Pastor of a large church in Virginia so it was great to talk to him about so many different things.

As we drove, I started to get texts from Vicki.  Most were simple as she was telling me about her evening, and how she was getting ice cream with her brother.  She had no idea I was heading in her direction.  Then at 10 o’clock as we were about 15 minutes away from her, I got the text that I was worried about getting the whole time.

“Whatcha doing? I hate not knowing”

This night the Baltimore Ravens were playing the Atlanta Falcons in the NFL.  This was cool, because being in Atlanta, everyone would be watching the game.  I had mentioned earlier in the week that I was looking forward to watching the game with my cousins husband Scott.  What would I say now?  Well, thankfully I have an iPhone and was tracking the game results on my phone, so the following statement was not a lie.

“Football game, I’ll call you in 20 mins or so. Nomes still awake?”

I could not wait to make that call.

15 minutes later we pull into her driveway.  My plan was perfect.  I was going to have her step outside and look to the sky to see if she can see the same stars as me.  This was a game we used to play back in our dating days when we were apart from each other.  From just off her front porch, I called her gave her the idea.

She goes out the back door!

NO! I think to myself… starting to panic.

I start walking around back… I can hear her talking through both the phone and my other ear.  I’m getting closer to her.  My heart pounding!

“I’m going back inside… it’s freeezing out here!”

NO! AGAIN!

I get around back just in time to see the door shut.  She was on a deck and I’m on the ground, so I can’t just follow her inside.

Meanwhile, it’s dark so I continue to walk around to the front of the house, all while carrying on the now awkward, non-flowing conversation.

Finally I decide to just walk in the front door.  Thankfully it was unlocked.

Her parents are on the couch watching a movie.  They were the first to see me, and they look at me like I’m a ghost.  I smile. They smile back.  I put my finger to my lips as to indicate to be quiet and point to the phone on my ear to indicate I am talking to their daughter.  They point in the direction of the back room .  Not saying a word the whole time, I walk around the corner into her sight.

She gasped! Her jaw dropped.

“OH MY GOODNESS!”

Imagine the feeling of thinking the person you are talking to on the phone is 300 miles away, and now they are wrapping their arms around you.

She didn’t exactly know what to say, except to smile, laugh, hug me back!

It was awesome!

Unfortunately Naomi was asleep but that didn’t stop me from laying beside her in her bed and kissing on her.

I love surprises!

Who doesn’t love a great surprise??

How about you?  Do any of you have any good surprise stories that you can share?  Doesn’t have to be as long and detailed to what I just shared.  Toss it in the comments – maybe you’ll give the rest of us a good idea for our next surprise opportunity.

Leave a Reply

