Are You Likable?

Posted: November 29, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Ben Arment, who has a blog here, had a simple post this morning on The Likability Factor.  His bottom line:

Never overestimate your likability factor. =)

Whether you like it or not… your likability factor affects the perception others have towards you.  Whether it’s business, ministry or life, it affects how others respond to you, whether they respect you, want to listen to you, want to work together with you, enjoy being around you, include you in their “inner-circle”, want to grow with you.

Our day-to-day decisions (big and small), how we respond to our circumstances, and general dialog have a lot to do with creating a high likability factor.

Am I likable?  I like to think I am.  I think most of my friends would say that I am.  But what about strangers at the grocery store, or someone I’m waiting behind at a Red Box kiosk, or someone that has offended me and I hold a grudge against them, or someone that is introvert and doesn’t communicate well, or someone who disagrees with me, or someone I disagree with, or someone that works for me?

Would they consider me likable?

I’m not sure.  Truth is, in most cases I listed above… probably not.

The reality is that sometimes I become so focused on my selfishness, my schedule, and my insecurities that I fail to respond and take advantage of opportunities that would help increase my likability factor.  By responding differently, I could potentially create the possibility to change someones life, or at the very least make their day a little brighter.

I am going to try a little harder this week to be more likable.

Are you likable?

Leave a Reply

